Why Choose Us?


Hour State Approved Course!

shapeAbout Us

Start Your Course Today!

Are you looking for a reliable and convenient way to complete your New York 5 Hour Pre-Licensing Course? Look no further than Defensive Drivers Institute! Our online platform provides a DMV-approved course that fulfills road test requirements, offering you the flexibility to learn at your own pace. With easy-to-follow training and exceptional customer support, we are committed to equipping you with the knowledge and skills needed to become a responsible and confident driver.

  • Defensive Driving
  • Road Test Preparation
  • Parallel parking
  • Basic Driving Skills
  • We are State-Approved
  • Easy To Take
  • Get Your License in No Time!
shapeCourse Material

Our Course Is Easy to Follow and Pass! Learn the Basics in No Time!


Keep a safe distance

Keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front of you and avoid tailgating


Speed Limit

Follow the speed limit and adjust your speed according the road conditions.


Turning Signal Light On

Use your turn signal before changing lane or turning and check your blind spots.


Seat Belt

Wear your seat belt and make sure your passengers do the same


Avoid Distractions

Avoid distractions such as using your phone, eating, drinking the while driving


Drive Sober

Drive sober and drug-free and avoid driving when you are tired or drowsy


Practice defensive driving

Practice defensive driving by being alert, cautiou and courteous


Know traffic laws

Know the local traffic laws and signs and follow them accordingly


Frequently Asked Questions

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course is an online program that teaches new drivers how to drive safely and comply with the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law. If you're seeking a New York driver license, you're required to complete the 5-hour course online or in person before you schedule an appointment for your behind-the-wheel road test.

The New York Online Pre-Licensing Program is for new drivers that are age 18 and up who are seeking a New York driver license. Students must have a photo learner permit before starting the course. Your photo permit will arrive in the mail about two weeks after the NYSDMV issues your temporary permit. At this time, the NYSDMV does not allow new drivers seeking a junior driver license (Class DJ) or junior motorcycle license (Class MJ) to take the pre-licensing course online. These new drivers must complete a 5-hour classroom course.

Yes. Before you can start your online 5-hour course, the NYSDMV requires you to prove you have a valid New York learner permit that includes your photograph. If you have a temporary learner permit with no photo, you must wait until you have a photo permit before you start your training. The NYSDMV issues temporary learner permits to drivers immediately after they pass the written permit exam at a DMV office. After you earn your temporary permit, it takes about two weeks for your photo permit to arrive in the mail.

The 5-hour course provides vital education to new drivers, including rules of the road, defensive driving techniques and more. Other course topics include:

New York vehicle and traffic laws

Habits and skills for safe driving

Risks of driving under the influence

How to drive safely on the highway Aggressive driving and road rage

Upon completion of the course, you'll know more about the responsibilities of safe drivers and a wide range of factors that can affect your driving.

Yes. The course uses personal security questions as well as a techniques to make sure that no one except the person who registered for the course participates in the program. This identity validation feature allows you to complete your training at your own pace across multiple sessions. Due to DMV standards, you have up to three chances to pass each security checkpoint. If you fail a checkpoint, you will be locked out of the course and will need to re-register. If this occurs, please contact our office.

At the beginning of the course, you will be required to answer a series of multiple-choice security questions. These personal questions will be used to verify your identity throughout your training. For each security checkpoint, one of the questions you previously answered will appear on your screen. You will have 45 seconds to select the correct answer and confirm your identity. If you fail three consecutive attempts to answer a security question, you will be locked out of the course and required to re-register.

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course includes nine quizzes, but it does not have a final exam. Each of the nine learning modules ends in a brief quiz, and you're required to score 70% or higher to continue to the next section. You have up to three attempts to pass each quiz. If you do not pass a quiz after three attempts, you will be locked out of the course and required to re-register.

No, graduates of the online 5-hour pre-licensing course do not need to provide a certificate of completion to the NYSDMV. After you successfully pass the course, we will email you a confirmation of your course completion and automatically submit your completion information to the NYSDMV. It may take up to 24 to 48 hours for your course completion to be posted on your driver record. You must take the road test for your first driver license within one year of completing the course. You will not need to provide an original Pre-Licensing Course Certificate (MV-278) when you arrive at a NYSDMV test location to take your road test. However, students who complete the 5-hour pre-licensing course in the classroom are required to present this document before their road test.

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course takes at least five hours to complete. It includes nine learning modules and at least 270 minutes of instruction, not including quizzes. You can complete the timed course modules at your own pace and take multiple breaks.

Due to NYSDMV regulations, you must complete the New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course within 30 calendar days of registering for the course.

You have up to one year to take your driver license road test after completing the 5-Hour Pre-Licensing course. If you do not take your road test before the one-year cutoff, you must re-register for the pre-licensing course and take it again.


Get Started Today! $44.95 or Pay Later and Start for FREE!*




Special Offer! Need Cheaper Auto Insurance? Or Open a New Policy?